Reading, writing and reflections

OEPThis week, I had the pleasure of participating in an Op-Ed Project seminar. I hadn’t been to one in almost a year, and I’d never been to a public session before. So while I had a fairly good idea of what the seminars involved, this was a reminder of the need for and the power of what the Op-Ed Project is doing.

Now, I know that I’m biased because I work for them and all, but believe me, I was on board with the OEP’s mission before I started interning for them (otherwise, why would I start interning for them in the first place?).

Possible bias aside, I have to say that it was incredibly inspiring to sit around a huge conference table with two dozen women as each of them came to the realization that, “Hey, I have something to say that’s worth listening to”. And then, to watch them being taught how to say it so that it will be heard, was just awesome in the true sense of the word.

Thank you to all the women who came to the sessions on Monday and Tuesday – thank you for sharing your ideas and for trusting Katie to help you build them into compelling and convincing arguments. And thank you for trusting her when she called you all experts, because you are. Everyone is an expert in something, and everyone deserves to be heard.

Leave a Reply

