Intro/Have You Weighed In?

Hello. The new Social Media Intern, Jordan, here. For my first blog post, I wanted to take a little time to introduce myself, and then encourage you to weigh in on an extremely important current issue.

I am from Cambridge City, a small town in East-Central Indiana with a population of about 2,000. I am a senior at Oberlin College, where I am a History major and am working on minors in French, Jewish Studies, and Russian and East European Studies. I am passionate about AIDS research, human rights, and the environment. That last one is especially relevant now, with what is certainly one of the worst environmental disasters of our time – the BP oil spill.

Although many people are joining in this discussion and are representing many different perspectives, we want to highlight more women’s voices. I personally would like to hear from people with knowledge about the positives and consequences of oil as a fuel or political insight into the responses and actions of BP and President Obama from the past couple of weeks.

Here are a few different Op-Eds to get you thinking:

I’m glad to be here and I hope to read some of your insights!

Leave a Reply

