OEP Session/Happy Hour 6/19

Saturday was a great day here at the OpEd offices – we had a full day session with 17 fantastic women (myself included) and then followed our day with happy hour at the Ace Hotel.

Everybody around the table

Since I have only been here for three weeks, this was my first time attending a full session. Katherine Lanpher, with the help of Katie Orenstein, led us through the day – teaching us about our expertises and how best to express them, in both op-eds and life. It was really great – even though it took me an embarrassingly long time to figure out that when Katherine said “graph” she meant “paragraph” – who knew? I was one of the few people that came in in the morning with no idea of what I could or should write about, and I left with a head full of ideas.

Judy and Lori discuss an article with their group

Alexandra, Lee, and Tereza happily poring over an op-ed

After the session was over, it was time for happy hour. I talked with some of the ladies there and they had great things to say about the day:

– “It’s about understanding your voice; finding something really core in yourself. It’s so freaking powerful…incredibly important…affecting so many other aspects of my life…”

– “This has absolutely nothing to do with writing. Writing is the vehicle. This ain’t that. There’s no way you can fully participate and not be changed. It makes you own your shit…in a good way!”

They also shared some fun facts about themselves! I talked to Tereza about her ultra-fashionable wardrobe. “I do not wear black,” she said. A few years ago, she made the decision to clear her closet of everything black and now – “I can see combinations that I couldn’t see before. It’s the most liberating thing.” Lena told me about her debilitating fear of clowns. Danielle weighed in with her fear of inanimate objects that become animated. I wisely did not share my embarrassing fears of chimneys and cotton balls.

Kyra, Bridgett, and 2008 alum Christine show off their drinks and smiles at happy hour

Katie poses with Victoria, Bill, and a next generation OpEd opinionist

Mentor-Editor Laura, Danielle (still wearing her nametag), and alum Rafiq at happy hour

In all, it was a really fun day. I was able to meet and learn about 16 other amazing women and then got to have drinks and talk with many of them at happy hour. For all who came, it was great to meet you, let’s keep in touch, and good luck writing!

– Jordan

One comment

  1. Wow, Jordan! Thanks for the recap!

    I had a blast and I learned a lot. I’m the one who said:

    “This has absolutely nothing to do with writing. Writing is the vehicle. This ain’t that. There’s no way you can fully participate and not be changed. It makes you own your shit…in a good way!”

    But, thank you for trying to protect the ‘innocent’🙂

    What I said was true and I meant every word and more. This class helps you to own every bit of expertise you bring to the table. We so often trivialize it.

    With all that I have, I am deeply indebted and grateful to Katie for having the ovaries to create something that lives and breathes like this.

    Here’s to more women writing, more women owning their expertise and to doing it together!

Leave a Reply

