Another Byline Survey Begins!

Hello there!

Welcome to the Byline Blog! My name is Augusta (Gus) Hagen-Dillon and I am the new Social Media intern here at the OpEd Project. I am currently a senior at Barnard College where I am majoring in History and minoring in Russian Studies. I love finding ways to enjoy myself outdoors in the midst of the concrete jungle of New York City, and when not in class or studying Russian verbs, I usually head to the park with a good book and a picnic.

Over the next three months I will be monitoring and analyzing female voices on the op-ed pages of major print, online, and college news sources in order to get a sense of how women are represented in opinion journalism across the board. I will be looking at The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, The Daily Beast, Salon, and The Huffington Post, in addition to the college publications, the Columbia Daily Spectator, the Daily Princetonian and the Yale Daily News.

It will be very interesting to see how many women are writing and what issues they are focusing on in each of these papers. Three months from now I will be collecting that information in a comprehensive report, but I will also be posting my findings here on a weekly basis and I hope you check in often to see the results.

In addition to the byline survey, I will be updating this blog with information on trends and other news tidbits related to women and opinion journalism. Have a suggestion or opinion? Please don’t hesitate to voice it- leave a comment!

Tomorrow marks the first day of October and the beginning of the byline survey- check in again soon to see the first numbers as they come in!

6 comments

  1. Very nice idea, but I’m curious as to why you chose those publications/outlets. NY Times, WSJ and WP are good choices (albeit slanted toward East Coast). But the online outlets are admittedly more opinionated. Was that intentional? Good luck!

Leave a Reply

