Greetings from the new Public Voices Fellowship intern

Hello all–

My name is Xueli Wang and I am excited to step in for Ravenna Koenig as the Public Voices Fellow this summer at The OpEd Project. Ever since entering college and being introduced to the world of academia, I have become increasingly more interested in bridging the gap between theoretical, field-specific knowledge and the real world–a common source of frustration in the university. Imagine my delight then, when I discovered that the OpEd Project’s Public Voices Fellowship program has been here all along, with its office located only a few subway stops away! Before I dive in though, let me tell you a little bit about myself:

I am a rising senior at Columbia University, majoring in Art History and concentrating in Philosophy. I have been living in New York City for the past eleven years, and before that, I spent a wondrous childhood in Guangzhou, a city in Southern China. In addition to working at the OEP this summer, I will also be hosting numerous interviews with scholars, filmmakers and other visual artists around the world as the Arts department head at WKCR 89.9 FM, Columbia radio. In my free time, I’ll be reading alot of philosophy and watching many many films, as well as improving my French in preparation for going to Paris in the fall, where I’ll be participating in an intensive filmmaking program at the EICAR film school. I am above all interested in the intersection between culture and social activism, and hope to be involved in both after graduating Columbia in 2013.

A summer with the OEP promises productive, enlightening, invigorating conversations, projects and relationships, and I write with great anticipation for the coming days.

Leave a Reply

