Greetings from …

Greetings from the new social media intern:

Hello!

My name is Anna Meixler and I’m excited to be working with Anaam Butt as the social media intern this summer at The OpEd Project. As an obsessive reader and journalism fanatic, I’ve become increasingly aware of the homogeneity of the voices in news sources. A quick visit to The OpEd Project’s website showed me that the imbalance of male/female and Caucasian/minority writers publishing opinions pieces is far more severe than I thought. Wanting to dedicate my strong interests in writing, research and social action to efforts towards equitable and diverse opinions sections, I applied to intern at The OpEd Project.

I am a rising freshman at Yale University, where I plan to major in Political Science or Global Affairs. I live in White Plains, New York, though most of my summer is spent in Manhattan. In addition to blogging for the OEP this summer, I intern at the Abrons Art Center of The Henry Street Settlement, where I’ll be helping with grant research, upcoming exhibitions, and children’s art classes. I also do freelance work for the Somaly Mam Foundation, researching and writing about international human trafficking.

Most of my free time was, until recently, consumed by a research project. I spent a week in south Tel Aviv, Israel, finding out more about the Eritrean, Darfuri, and South Sudanese asylum seekers living within Israel’s borders. I interviewed asylum seekers, Israeli volunteers at refugee aid organizations, employees at the UN, municipal workers, and others involved in providing services to the asylum seeker community. I channeled my interviews and research findings into a blog, southtelaviv.tumblr.com, on which I also post artwork inspired by my learnings.

As I work to communicate my own thoughts on global and local issues, I hope to help the OEP expand opportunities for others, enriching our sources of information and equalizing our work forces. I’m excited to be spending a summer with inspiring mentors, and look forward to great conversations and impactful projects.

Image

Leave a Reply

