Full House at The OpEd Project Chicago Seminar

Chicago Regional Manager Yoonj Kim thinks back on the weekend’s public seminar.

This past Saturday, April 6th I managed a room chock full of participants at our Chicago public seminar, led by the indefatigable Michele Weldon and Katherine Lanpher.  Katherine flew in from New York to help lead a very full class of 27 people — 29 towards the end when we were joined by special guest Mark Hallett from the McCormick Foundation and alum ambassador Veronica Arreola.

oped46chi5As usual we heard from voices of various backgrounds, from an improv comedienne to attorneys.  With immigration legislation looming on our country’s near future, a group of 10 passionate folks from the National Immigrant Justice Center were also among us to learn about developing their ideas and experiences into effective op-eds and thought leadership.

As a manager and multiple seminar attendee, it was a pleasure to witness the synergy between Michele and Katherine. Their mutual passion for the seminar facilitated an engaging environment where ideas were easily given and discussed by the participants.  All of our seminars are known for being open, non-partisan sessions, and this one was no exception.

Check out more photos from the day at our Facebook photo album.  I’m looking forward to the op-eds that will come out of this amazing class.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

9 comments

  1. You really make it appear so easy together with your presentation
    however I to find this matter to be actually one thing that I think I might by no means understand.
    It kind of feels too complicated and very wide for me.
    I am taking a look ahead in your next submit, I’ll try to get the hold of it!

  2. Hello every one, here every one is sharing these kinds of experience, thus it’s pleasant to read this webpage, and I used to pay a quick visit this web site everyday.

  3. My programmer is trying to persuade me to move to .
    net from PHP. I have always disliked the idea because of the costs.
    But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using Movable-type on various websites
    for about a year and am concerned about switching to another platform.
    I have heard great things about blogengine.net. Is there a way
    I can import all my wordpress content into it? Any
    kind of help would be really appreciated!

  4. Unquestionably believe that which you said. Your favorite reason appeared to be on the internet the simplest thing to be aware of.
    I say to you, I definitely get irked while people think about worries that they plainly don’t know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and defined out the whole thing without having side-effects , people could take a signal. Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

  5. I wanted to compose you that little observation to finally thank you
    very much again for your incredible solutions you’ve discussed here. It was simply strangely open-handed of people like you to provide without restraint what exactly many of us would’ve sold for an electronic book to generate some cash for
    themselves, most notably since you could have done it if you ever wanted.
    The advice in addition served to be the fantastic way to understand that most people have similar dream just like mine to learn way more in respect of this
    matter. I believe there are a lot more fun situations up front for people who start reading your blog.

Leave a Reply

