Teaching Me to Tell My Story

A guest post in verse by Jari Taylor. Jari attended The Global Girls Media Summit in partnership with The OpEd Project.

jaritaylor

The OpEd Project

Has taught me to be

Consistent, persistent

Efficient, more indifferent

To be loud, proud, to

Never let down, ‘cause

When you bring yourself up

Others can’t throw you around

You see this project

Has taught me to be me

And only me ‘cause I’m

Not what everybody else

Think they see

I had to debate and

Relate with people face

To face, those people

Who expand from race

To race over my arrogant grace

We talked about

Ridiculous, the game of

Arguing over difference

The game of saying

What you mean and

Meaning what you

Say ‘cause we were

Never promised an extra day

So I thank you

For teaching me to

Tell my story, but never

Poorly, cause I’ve

Realized that I can become

More important

In the future.

Leave a Reply

