Why Have A Public Voice?

Emory Public Voices Fellowship alumna, Dorothy Brown, writes about why it’s important to her to have a public voice.   

Dorothy A. Brown, Emory Law

I write op-eds because I want to take my ideas to a broader audience.  Recently one of my op-eds published by Forbes landed me an invitation to the Melissa Harris Perry show on MSNBC The op-ed was based on one of my scholarly publications which examined the financial disadvantages of owning a home for most African-Americans and whites who want to live in a racially diverse neighborhood. At last check over 70,000 people have read the op-ed – if I’m lucky 70 people have read my scholarly article.  I write op-eds because I can engage my ideas with many more people than will ever access my scholarship.

Dorothy Brown, a 2013 Public Voices Fellow, is Associate Vice Provost for Academic Affairs and Professor of Law in the School of Law at Emory University. The Public Voices Fellowship Program is a national initiative, undertake in partnership with leading academic institutions and foundations, to dramatically increase the public impact of our nation’s top underrepresented thinkers. The Public Voices Fellowship Program at Emory University is a collaboration with The OpEd Project sponsored by the Center for Women at Emory. Co-Sponsors are the Center for Faculty Development and Excellence, Center for Injury Control, Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing, School of Law, Candler School of Theology, Emory College, and Office of the President. For more information about the program at Emory, click here:http://womenscenter.emory.edu/Program….

Leave a Reply

