So What’s it Like to be a Public Voices Fellow, Megan?

alrutzIn a note to OpEd Project Senior Facilitator Teresa Puente, UT-Austin Public Voices Fellow Megan Alrutz shared her thoughts on the fellowship and its effects on her life and work:

Dear Teresa,

I am so grateful for ALL of your energy over the last few weeks. The OpEd Project, and specifically your mentorship, is changing the way I think about the world, my research, and my role as an ally and a change maker.

My family is now reading my work. I’ve reached more readers in a week than several of my academic articles reach in a year. And I am paying attention to the news and global events with a new lens.

You are helping me get better at many of the things that first brought me into the field of Theatre for Youth, and then into academia.

Feeling lots of gratitude. Thank you for all that and more,

Megan

Leave a Reply

