A love letter to my OpEd Project colleagues and community

ko and cbIt struck me that I just hit my 3 year milestone with OEP.

There’s a real opportunity here to reflect on what has happened the past 3 years – BIG picture because why not. I’m sentimental. Check it out: when I began on St. Patrick’s Day 2012, we were finishing up our very first fellowship at Yale.

In the 36 months that have passed, we’ve expanded to 15 institutions, many of which have turned into multi-year, renewable partnerships.  That’s hundreds and hundreds of fellows. We’ve worked directly with over 7,000 new alums.  We’ve travelled to 8+ countries within 4 continents. In early 2012, we averaged ten people on our weekly calls.  These days, over 30 of us dial-in and about 120 of us (including our fab Mentor-Editors) play a role each month. The new ideas that have been midwifed by the lot of you are in the thousands, if not tens of thousands.

I’ve gotten to travel and help usher in programs at Dartmouth and Yale, in Norway, Phoenix, D.C., in Big Trees CA, Zanzibar and Cincinnati.  I’ve worked with Egyptian film activists at the UN and an array of European geoscientists in Bergen.  I had a piece published in the New York Times and then was invited to meet with Sheryl Sandberg. I got to go to Clinton Global Initiative and rub elbows with the top, top dogs.  I’ve run a half-marathon with some of you and spelunked in a cave with others. I have a few new gray hairs. zanz

But above all of that, the most important element of the past 3 years is that I’ve helped weave and become embedded in a network of some of the brightest and most incredible people I’ve ever known (that would be you).  You people are my church and tribe.  And day to day, week to week, year to year, I couldn’t be more excited of  what we’re building together. I don’t know about you but I’m in awe of it, in awe of you, and just so, so grateful.
In sum, you’ve made me better– thank you. Can’t wait to see what’s next.

big love,

Court

 

Leave a Reply

